top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureshellfish research

Get to know our new student, Seb!



In March I moved across the world from the UK to New Zealand, to start working on shellfish restoration in NZ as part of this research group. My work is focused on the Green-lipped mussel restoration efforts in the Hauraki Gulf.


My PhD research is concentrated around improving juvenile recruitment onto restored Green-lipped mussel beds. To do this I am approaching the problem from two angles; initially I will be using a biophysical model to track mussel larvae in the Hauraki Gulf, this will allow me to understand population connectivity and recruitment patterns between the different mussel larval sources in the Gulf. There are a few different sources including wild populations, aquaculture operations, and those originating from the restored mussel beds. The modelling process will calculate which areas of the Gulf receive the greatest larval supply, and the origin of those larvae. I will then use microchemical techniques to validate the model, double checking where the juvenile mussels in settlement hotspots come from by analysing the trace elements in the prodissoconch layer of their shells.


My second line of inquiry will focus on understanding why conditions at these settlement hotspots are not resulting in mussel bed formation. This will involve diver sampling and remote sensing techniques to collect data on the water and sediment characteristics. Once I understand which settlement and recruitment criteria are and aren’t being met at these sites, I can conduct further habitat suitability testing at the most promising sites. Identifying these sites will help in optimising the location of new mussel restoration beds to achieve higher larval settlement and juvenile survival rates, with the ultimate aim of restoring the historical mussel beds across their original expanse.


My interest in marine biology led me to working as a dive instructor when I left school, while I loved teaching diving I found that it was missing the research element that I enjoy so much, this realisation led me to start a BSc degree in Marine biology at Heriot Watt University in Edinburgh. During and after my degree I was lucky enough to get the opportunity to work on the Scientific diving team, which allowed me to refine my scientific diving skills, and thereby secure work as a contractor on an Oyster reef restoration project. It was working on this Oyster project that developed my understanding of bivalve reef restoration and is the reason that I was so sure that a PhD in Green-lipped mussel reef restoration would suit me. Other recent work has included modelling storm damage in polychaete worm biogenic reefs and cetacean research and monitoring.



My first month has been pretty interesting, due to the outbreak of COVID-19 my work has been concentrated on reviewing literature and developing my biophysical model. As I write this we are close to moving into level 2 of the virus response measures, and I am hopeful that I can get out into the field to observe these incredible animals in the coming months.

15 views0 comments
bottom of page